Viewing Mental Illness

 

I am certain that all of us have considered about how we view mental illness. Maybe critically. Maybe with acceptance. Maybe not at all.

I have spent much time thinking about this. I come to an unfortunate and mostly negative conclusion. It took a long time to change my thinking. Too long.

I did not even accept that I had bipolar disorder. Not me I thought; I’ m not crazy. The doctors didn’t know what they were talking. Sure I had some problems but who doesn’t.

For many years I ignored the diagnosis. Before that I simply didn’t think about it or mental illness in general – except during the abnormal psychology course I took in university.

I know now that various forms of mental illness are deeply rooted in my family. When I was young I had didn’t know this. No one sought treatment. No one admitted what they were experiencing. In their defence during those years, any mental illness was a hushed subject within the family and hidden, as much as possible.

My life in the four years after being diagnosed slowly then quickly crumbled. At the end, nothing made sense. My behaviour became less and less controllable; my thinking less comprehensible.

Finally against my will I was hospitalized for two months. I wasn’t coherent by then and I have little memory of the first week and half. Gradually with medication and therapy I found myself again. In the hospital I received few visitors, no cards, no flowers. Gifts normal for someone hospitalized, reminders that people were thinking about them.

I slowly realized that I wasn’t my old self. I changed in ways that became apparent over time. Also I was treated differently by almost everyone, including my spouse.

Worse I adopted much of these attitudes. Essentially, I avoided myself. Avoided my disease. Avoided treatment until I flew or fell.

In the hospital again. Alone again.

Thankfully over the decade, I have accepted that I need ongoing medical treatment, that it is very likely I will take medication for the rest of my years. I have come to a kind of peace about living with bipolar disorder.

Not all the time. I get angry that I can’t live I once did, that I lost dreams that I had for the future, that I’m a different person. I also become sad, even feel despair, about the same things.

Now, most of all, I aspire to by a positive voice. I want to help put mental illness on the public agenda.

I want to be heard. I want to be understood

Lastly, I’m including links to a few Ted Talks I’ve found are worth watching.

Love and hope Terry.

http://www.ted.com/talks/elyn_saks_seeing_mental_illness.html

http://www.ted.com/talks/vikram_patel_mental_health_for_all_by_involving_all.html

http://www.ted.com/talks/ruby_wax_what_s_so_funny_about_mental_illness.html

12 thoughts on “Viewing Mental Illness

  1. Pingback: Mental Health and Expressing Who I Am | Living Bipolar II

  2. Pingback: The Ledger Titled: “Medicating Kids May Not Solve Problems” | ChildreninPrison

  3. Thanks for sharing some of your story.

    I am a fellow blogger with a mental illness and I’m currently working on a spiritual memoir entitled “Delight in Disorder: Meditations from a Bipolar Mind”. Currently, I’m working on “The Study” chapter where I reflect on books that have impacted my understanding of mental illness as well as list other works of art (books,movies,visual arts, music) worth exploring.

    I’d love for you to visit my site and share what you’ve found helpful. The post is here –

    Madness in Media

    Hope to see you around.

    • Thanks for your message. So often I find that those of us with a mental illness tell the same story. And it’s generally not heart warming. I’ll definitely visit your blog. Good luck on your book. I’ve been thinking lately that eventually I would like to transform my blog into some type of book. We’ll see. And if you ever need help with editing and the like, that’s been my profession for more than 20 years. Good to hear from you.

  4. I have bipolar. I live in Canada and have been following your blog for awhile. Your thoughts and experiences are quite similar to mine and your desire for mental illness to finally be ‘out in the open’ is exactly how I feel, quite passionately. It’s damn tiring being a turtle and poking one’s little head out to see if it’s safe and hiding in fear and shame inside a shell. Keep writing and keep moving forward Terry. Namaste, Lynn

    • Thanks so much for reading and commenting. I recently compiled a list of mental health organizations in Canada which will be in my next post. It’s so interesting, and in some ways discouraging, how many stories and experiences are the same. We need to raise our voice and i’m glad that want to do exactly the same.

      namaste

      • Looking forward to your next blog post and the many more to come! We do need to ‘shout it out’ because our quiet and patient voices are certainly not being heard, if only in defeat. Lynn

  5. Pingback: Life, Frustration, Rant… | Murphinman's Fortress of Solitude

  6. Pingback: Allow yourself to transcend the naming of your symptoms | A Friend to Yourself

  7. Pingback: Some Initial Book Recommendations | OT in Mental Health: A Young OT's Perspective

  8. Pingback: The Group | Whang Communication Production

  9. Pingback: Barriers to change. | Where I Stand

Leave a comment